Results Day

Whenever the second Thursday of August comes by, I cannot help but feel a shiver crawl down my spine. It is a day where newspapers around the country show off pictures of
jumping girls, who have received their grades and are excited about their future. However, behind this veil of excitement there is a mellow and depressive feeling amongst those whose day did not go to plan.

For me, the results day of 2012 was a day which changed my life. That is why I am writing this blog. I want to share with you my experience of failure, and how I used that failure to shape me into who I am today.

I came to Results Day 2012 feeling scared. I came out on that day having received grades D,D,C. I was devastated, for the first time in my life I had failed at something. Words cannot describe the pain I felt. I wanted the ground to swallow me up and for me to never be seen again.

In my anger and rage I started to blame everyone; my family and even my friends! Everyone but myself. Deep down I knew that I was the one to blame.

Over the next few days after results day I went through a phase of self reflection. I realised that this failure was an opportunity for me to get my life back into gear, and slog for the next twelve months. Long story short I came out of results day 2013 with grades of B,B,C, eventually securing a place at Cardiff University.

You may be wondering why I am telling you this.

Today, there maybe some individuals who will have their first bitter taste of failure. For some, it will hit them quite hard, others will feel devastated.

When results day does not go to plan, it can be devastating. However, what matters after results day is what you do next! It is the way that you recover from your disappointment that decides the winners from the failures. After all the way we cope with failure, will determine who we are!

Let me give you an example. When learning to ride a bike, there will inevitably be falls. However, the only way to learn to ride the bike would be dust yourself down, and get back on the bike. If you fall off and think “I’ve failed, and I’m not gonna try that again” then you will never be able to ride the bike. However, If you do not do anything different then there is a chance that you could keep on crashing over and over again.

When a failure occurs, the world does not stop spinning. Life moves on, and so should you. As long as you learn from the mistakes of your past, then the future will be bright!

I want to end this blog with one of the tips I used to push myself, to achieve my goal. Every time I failed at something, I asked myself a question “How much do I want to succeed at this?”. If the answer was “Not much”, then it was time to move on. However if the answer was “Yes, I want to do this” then I got up, and tried again!

Posted on August 16, 2014, in USA & Canada and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dearest Ammaar

    This blog is truly amazing. You have shared your personal disappointment and through that authenticity, you have provided others hope. That is an amazing gift to give others. And through that hope, you have given them faith: faith in themselves. And that is immeasurable because through that you rebuild broken spirit and heal hearts. Any person who does that has earned reward in His kingdom. I am proud of you.

  2. Not the site I was searching for nevertheless, you got my attention. Such interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

